Eleanor Noble is the new President of ACTRA National


TORONTO, ON – Eleanor Noble has been elected by ACTRA‘s National Council to a two-year term as National President. Eleanor replaces David Sparrow, who stepped down as National President after serving in this role for four years.

“It is an honour to be elected as ACTRA National President,” said Eleanor Noble. “I am looking forward to working with everyone and continuing to enhance our industry and keeping Canada on our screens. ACTRA members across this country are committed to protecting performers’ rights, strengthening our working conditions through collective bargaining and advocacy, and taking action to increase diversity, equity, inclusion, and belonging. Respect and dignity must be reflected in the story of our diverse talent across this country. I will work to ensure everyone feels they belong because they do.”

Eleanor Noble, ACTRA, National President

An ACTRA Montreal Councillor since 2006, Eleanor is currently Vice President of ACTRA Montreal and the Chair of the ACTRA National Women’s Committee. Eleanor is actively committed to creating safe sets across Canada and broadening diversity in all aspects of our industry. She is the creator of the Casting Standards Committee in Montreal, which works with industry partners to improve the casting process. She also oversaw the adaptation of ACTRA National’s guide for Best Practices for Scenes Involving Nudity, Intimacy, Simulated Sex and Sexual Violence.

Based in Montreal, Eleanor’s screen credits include Incendo’s Seasoned with Love, CBC’s Detectives, I.D.’s Fatal Vows, and APTN’s Mohawk Girls. Her voice performance credits include the popular series Arthur, Disney’s Trulli Tales, Netflix’s Maggie & Bianca: Fashion Friends and the video games Assassin’s Creed, Splinter Cell, Prince of Persia. Eleanor is a graduate of the Professional Theatre Program (The Dome) at Dawson College in Montreal.

The election for National President took place this past weekend during ACTRA‘s National Council meeting. Outgoing President David Sparrow will remain on ACTRA’s National Council as Past President. 

ACTRA’s National Council, composed of 28 National Councillors plus the National President and Past President, is the principal policy-making Council within the union. The National Council is elected every two years with elected National Councillors serving a two-year term. The National Council is responsible to the entire membership and has a moral obligation to ensure its decisions adequately represent the national interests of all nine ACTRA Branches.

 For the full list of ACTRA National Councillors, please visit actra.ca.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.