Scotiabank and the National Gallery of Canada announce the 2021 New Generation Photography Award longlist

Svava Tergesen Headshot Credit Maren Tergesen (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

TORONTOFeb. 18, 2021 /CNW/ – Scotiabank and the National Gallery of Canada are pleased to announce the longlist for the fourth annual New Generation Photography Award.

Congratulations to the 24 Canadian artists named to the 2021 New Generation Photography Award longlist:

  • Justin ApperleyDawson City, YT
  • Brittney Bear Hat, Calgary, AB
  • Dustin BronsVancouver, BC
  • Caroline CloutierLongueuil, QC
  • Emily CritchSt. John’s, NL
  • Garnet DirksenKamloops, BC
  • Chris DonovanSaint John, NB
  • Jeff DownerVancouver, BC
  • Marika Drolet-FergusonTracadie, NS
  • Sardar FarrokhiToronto, ON
  • Séamus Gallagher, Halifax, NS
  • Ursula HandleighHalifax, NS
  • Alphiya Joncas, Havre-aux-Maisons, QC
  • Christopher LacroixVancouver, BC
  • Shelby Lisk, Kenhtè:ke (Tyendinaga Mohawk Territory), ON
  • Léna Mill-Reuillard, Montréal, QC
  • Lucas MorneauSackville, NB
  • Annie France Noël, Moncton, NB
  • Dainesha Nugent-Palache, Brampton, ON
  • Clara PattersonMoncton, NB
  • Janice ReidBrampton, ON
  • Marie-France RobichaudShippagan, NB
  • Angeline SimonLethbridge, AB
  • Svava TergesenVancouver, BC
Annie France Noël Headshot Credit Annie France Noël (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

The purpose of the New Generation Photography Award, the only one of its kind, is to elevate the careers of young Canadians working in lens-based art. It is open to individuals 35 and under.

Justin Apperley Headshot Credit Miriam Behman (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

“We are proud to support the work of our country’s most promising new photographers,” says Laura Curtis Ferrera, Chief Marketing Officer, Scotiabank. “Scotiabank has a deep passion for supporting the arts and we’re happy to continue to help play a role in elevating the careers of young artists through the New Generation Photography Award.”

Emily Critch Headshot Credit Emily Critch (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

“As with previous years, the New Generation Photography Award confirms the immense talent of an up-and-coming generation of artists in Canada,” says Andrea Kunard, Chair of the Jury and Associate Curator, Photographs at the National Gallery of Canada. “The nominees impress with the high quality of their work and deep appreciation of the photographic medium. Subject matter and approach are diverse and lively, ranging from expressions of personal journeys to thoughtful explorations of pressing social issues. The prize celebrates the work of both nominees and winners and encourages a continuation of their vision.”

Marika Drolet-Ferguson Headshot Credit Annie France Noël (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

These talented Canadian artists were selected by the New Generation Photography Award nomination committee – a panel of 16 experts in contemporary Canadian art; visual artists, professors, public art institution directors and curators:

  • Lisa Birke, Assistant Professor, Digital and Extended Media, University of SaskatchewanSaskatoon, SK
  • Mary Bradshaw, Director of Visual Arts, Yukon Arts Centre, Whitehorse, YT
  • Karen Carter, Curator, BAND Gallery, Toronto, ON
  • Dana Claxton, Associate Professor, Dept. of Art History, Visual Art & Theory, UBC and 2020 winner of the Scotiabank Photography Award, Vancouver, BC
  • Patricia Deadman, Curator, Woodland Cultural Centre, Brantford, ON
  • Louise Déry, Directrice, Galerie de l’UQAM, Montréal, QC
  • Julie Forgues, Directrice / Professeure de photographie, Département des arts visuels, Université de MonctonMoncton, NB
  • Arni Haraldsson, Associate Professor, Audain Faculty of Art, Emily Carr University of Art and Design, Vancouver, BC
  • George Harris, Curator and Artistic Director, Two Rivers Gallery, Prince George, BC
  • April Hickox, Associate Professor, Faculty of Art, OCADU, Toronto, ON
  • Marie-Josée Jean, Directrice générale et artistique, VOX, centre de l’image contemporaine, Montréal, QC
  • Marlene MacCallum, Honorary Research Professor, Visual Arts Program, Grenfell CampusMemorial University of NewfoundlandCorner Brook, NL
  • Robin Metcalfe, Director/Curator, St. Mary’s University Art Gallery, Halifax, NS
  • Charo Neville, Curator, Kamloops Art Gallery, Kamloops, BC
  • Karen Stentaford, Lecturer, Mount Allison UniversitySackville, NB
  • Kristy Trinier, Artistic Director / Curator, Lethbridge, AB
Chris Donovan Headshot Credit Giovanni Capriotti (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)

The three winners of the 2021 New Generation Photography Award will be selected from the longlist by an esteemed jury. The winners, who will be announced on March 23, 2021  will receive a cash prize of $10,000 each along with the opportunity to be featured in two group exhibitions: in Toronto, Ontario, during the Scotiabank CONTACT Photography Festival  in Spring/Summer 2021 and at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa in Fall 2021 (COVID-19 restrictions permitting). Award recipients will be mentored by the curatorial team at the National Gallery of Canada and their work will be included in artist talks, exhibition tours and educational programming. Due to COVID-19, the 2020 and 2021 winners will present their works together at the group exhibitions.

Alphiya Joncas Headshot Credit Julien Leblanc Fabrique Culturelle (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)


Members of the jury are:

  • Andrea Kunard, Associate Curator, Photographs, National Gallery of Canada and Chair of the Jury
  • Shelley Niro, Artist and 2017 Scotiabank Photography Award winner
  • Lorraine Gilbert, Director, Visual Arts Department, University of Ottawa
  • Noah Friebel, Artist and 2020 New Generation Photography Award winner
Ursulah Handleigh Headshot Credit Ursulah Handleigh (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Léna Mill-Reuillard Headshot Credit Guillaume Sabourin (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Garnet Dirksen Headshot Credit Kinga Michalska (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Jeff Downer Headshot Credit David Parker (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Shelby Lisk Headshot Credit Matthew Hayes (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Dustin Brons Headshot Credit Dustin Brons (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Clara Patterson Headshot Credit Karen Stentaford (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Caroline Cloutier Headshot (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Marie France Robichaud Headshot (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Séamus Gallagher Headshot Credit Katie Nakaska (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Dainesha Nugent-Palache Headshot Credit Dainesha Nugent-Palache (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Lucas Morneau Headshot Credit Lucas Morneau (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Chris Lacroix Headshot Credit Greg Wong (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Sardar Farrokhi Headshot Credit Sardar Farrokhi (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Janice Reid Headshot Credit Janice Reid (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Brittney Bear Hat Headshot Credit Dayna Ellen (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)
Angeline Simon Headshot Credit Angeline Simon (CNW Group/The Bank of Nova Scotia)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.